Friday Fictioneers: Food

Posted: August 17, 2012 in Friday Fictioneers
Tags: , , , , , ,
Photo by Lura Helms

Photo by Lura Helms

Nature is a cruel Mother.  Feeding to be fed.  Nurturing to be nurtured.  Consuming flesh, leaving bone.  Then absorbing that, too, until nothing is left resembling the creature that developed from her seed.

Abbie watched her father pull out of the driveway.  Another day, another dollar.  The insistent clatter of breakfast preparations summoned her, but she lingered, watching his car stop at the sign, turn the corner.

“Abbie.  Breakfast.  Hurry or you’ll be late for school!”

She slid from the couch and allowed her feet to carry her to the kitchen table.  A good student starts with a nutritious meal.

***

Hope you enjoyed my drabble.  I love comments and critique.  Read more great stories or add one of your own at Friday Fictioneers on Madison Woods’ website.

Comments
  1. Hmm. To my eye, this is rather a sad little tale. It seems to me she has already resigned herself to the fact that, even so young, she is bound by responsibilities and, inevitably, will be consumed by them in the same way Nature consumes us when we’re used up. Good read.

  2. elmowrites says:

    Keli, this feels like part of something much bigger – the first paragraph tells me this isn’t the nice family idyll the second part suggests. I’m not sure exactly what the link is going to be, yet, but I don’t think I like Abbie being left alone with her Mum!
    I’m over here: http://elmowrites.wordpress.com/2012/08/17/friday-fictioneers-sin/

  3. rochellewisoff says:

    It seems the young student has caught on to life’s cycle. A nice telling.
    http://www.rochelle-wisoff.blogspot.com/2012/08/casualty-of-war.html

  4. vbholmes says:

    I read it that she was feeding her hunger for learning–your story provides room for all sorts of interpretations. Look forward to reading more of them.

  5. A rather interesting take on the prompt; a vicious sycle. Mine is here and linked: http://readinpleasure.wordpress.com/2012/08/17/fridayfictioneers-the-withered-flower/

  6. Janet says:

    The first paragraph really sets us up for somthing (I want to say ominous, but that’s not quite right).. There are so many ways to interpret this and you have left me thinking. Thanks, I like that in a story. Here’s mine: http://postcardfiction.com/2012/08/17/discovered/

    • keliwright says:

      I had several things in mind myself when I wrote it, so I’m pleased that you see it that way. Maybe I’m leaving it too wide open, but I do love variety in interpretation. It’s a dilemma.

      I’ll head over and check yours out. Thanks for the comments.

  7. Koleen says:

    Like this Kel. Serious talent for words!!!

  8. Jan Morrill says:

    A touching tale in a dark kind of way. Sad that your character already feels the futility of life. Very deep and clever take on the photo!

    –Jan
    http://janmorrill.wordpress.com/2012/08/17/fridayfictioneers-flashfiction-passages/

  9. keliwright says:

    Maybe recognizing it will allow her to fight it? We can always hope. Thanks for your comments.

  10. At first read, it sounded like a fairly regular family, but with the first paragraph, a second read seemed much more ominous. The “another day, another dollar” adds futility and eventually I came up with a family that sounds nothing like I want mine to be!! 🙂

  11. boomiebol says:

    A unique take on the prompt…Abbie is learning at an early age how tough and rough life can sometimes be…i sense she doesn’t get to see or spend time with her dad like she would like…very original, very unique, very well done. Thanks so much for stopping by mine

  12. Hi Keli,
    I liked the philosophical tone with which you introduced this. Nice contrast between the bare skull and the child. Thanks for reading and commenting on my story. Ron

  13. glossarch says:

    A cryptic story, and somehow ominous, like it foretells something horrible.

  14. I believe the nugget to this story is….”another day, another dollar”…the futility of living in poverty. She’s learned early that poverty is like living in prison. I see her counting these hopeless days…until she can escape from this drudgery.

    • keliwright says:

      Another interesting reading. I was thinking more of a poverty of spirit or soul, but financial poverty definitely plays a role. Whether or not they are experiencing physical poverty currently, the fear of it is definitely a driving force. And whatever I was thinking, I love to hear how others read my work. Thanks for sharing your perspective!

  15. Brian Benoit says:

    An interesting, sad perspective on the typical working life, the way her father is depicted as almost in an advanced state of decay, whereas she’s just starting out. I liked the descriptions in the first paragraph most of all, though. Nice story!

    • keliwright says:

      It’s interesting that your first comments focus on the father, a character many would dismiss as a shadow. I love hearing how other people read! Thanks so much for commenting.

  16. Russell says:

    I owe, I owe, it’s off to work I go. Yes, nature can be a harsh mother and/or mistress. A wise man once said, “Find a job you love and you’ll never have to work a day in your life.”
    It was nice to visit with you Saturday. I look forward to reading more of your work.

Leave a Reply

