Friday Fictioneers: Wisdom in a Blue Skirt

Posted: October 19, 2012 in Friday Fictioneers
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

copyright Ron Pruitt

I’m sure I’m not the only one to take this route with this prompt.  And I wrote this pretty early in the a.m. (for me, anyway).  Perhaps I was just too tired to search out a quirky twist.  On the other had, this shot is already pretty quirky.  Not much searching necessary.  Sometimes the most obvious elements make the best stories.  This short is only 67 words.  It’s actually an attempt at a four-sentence short.  Not quite as brief as Hemingway’s, but I hope you still enjoy it.

Please feel free to critique and comment.

Wisdom in a Blue Skirt

When Bruce had pulled his clothes from the overnight bag this morning, he knew he’d gone too far.  To him it had been just another argument.  To Julie it had been the last straw.  Now, waiting to board the bus behind his wife and child, the wind whipping the lace-trimmed skirt around his naked legs, it was clear to him who wore the pants in this family.

Thanks to Madison Woods who has been such a great moderator for Friday Fictioneers.  I’m sorry to see her pass the torch.  However, I know Rochelle will do a great job running the group.

I hope you enjoyed my little story.  Read more or add one of your own at Madison Woods’ blog.

Comments
  1. Kelli, what fun and I love the play on words/phrases!! Short and sweet.

  2. That one makes me grin! He must have really annoyed her. Maybe he’d better learn to pack his own bag.

  3. Hi Keli,
    So many cross dressing bus riders these days. That big guy at the front of the line is actually a woman. Great, weird, quirky story, and in only 67 words. Papa would be proud of you! Ron

    • keliwright says:

      Oh, dear. I hope I didn’t offend anyone too deeply. I’m sure my story is no reflection of the reality of that picture, anyway. It’s fiction, right? 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration and the comments.

  4. Jan Morrill says:

    Wonderfully quirky — and clever, too. I haven’t seen another story about a lace-skirted cowboy. 🙂

  5. tedstrutz says:

    No, I think you are the only one to have taken this route… very clever!

  6. elmowrites says:

    Oh dear, Bruce. Shoudl have thought about the “woman scorned” adage, methinks!

  7. rich says:

    at first i thought, “only 67? why stop there? use them all.” but after reading it, there was no need for anything else. well done.

  8. This made me think of a commercial with the little guy in a tutu because he’d lost a bet. Very clever, Keli. Thanks for your comments on mine.

  9. Lora says:

    I had to read twice to figure out who was wearing that lace-trimmed blue skirt…then I burst into a loud laugh and woke up my napping cat. Thanks for the great chuckle.

  10. keliwright says:

    I believe that individual is wearing shorts, rather than a skirt. Funny the way things strke us when we are waking up in the morning.

  11. billgncs says:

    that made me laugh….

Leave a Reply

