Friday Fictioneers: Not Really a Story

Posted: November 9, 2012 in Friday Fictioneers
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

copyright Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Today I considered doing a rime rhyme or a frosty fantasy, but I was finally drawn by the atmosphere of the recent elections.  My offering this week is not really a story, but my hope that we can all extend love and understanding to others, even when we don’t see eye to eye.  Although my piece is set in the aftermath of a U.S. election (any one will do), the underlying philosophy is not limited by nationality or the political sphere.

I welcome critique.  My last story generated some discussion about word choice that I enjoyed and appreciated.  Thanks to all who participated.  Since this piece does have a political element, I would re-emphasize that comments should be kept civil.

Not Really a Story

It was odd weather for this early in November, but it matched the mood of the Facebook posts she’d been reading.  It was an icy world out there.  Still, the sun would return, and as long as she could maintain a peaceful demeanor, hearts in her circle would melt just as surely as the sleet on her window.  There would be some who hung on, who called her evil because they disagreed, who popped keys off keyboards or called for unjustified impeachment on their car bumpers.  But most, she believed, would settle back into a sanity of forbearance and friendship.

I hope you enjoyed my drabble.  Read more great flash fiction at Friday Fictioneers’  on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.  Or add one of your own!

Comments
  1. As my Jewish friends say, “from your lips to God’s ears”! It’s been a nasty time.

  2. I liked your “not really a story” story. It reflects very well the current atmosphere, and I agree with her hope (your hope) that people on both sides will show civility and friendship toward those who disagree with their views.

  3. Amen. We desperately need political healing.

  4. Russell says:

    I agree Keli. We could certainly stand some civility, but I fear than most hard-liners will continue to tear down rather than build up.

  5. Hi Keli,
    Interesting post. I think it’s time for all of us to come together and get down to solving some problems. Hope you agree. Ron

  6. Well said, Keli, well said.

  7. Brian Benoit says:

    I agree – the negativity of campaigns and the polarization they cause can really drag you down (although, as with writing, I think constructive criticism of opinions is a good thing — but the operative word is constructive haha). Nice one!

  8. tedstrutz says:

    I think most of us settle… a few never do… I remember the computer keys… good example… people who should have been a little more professional.

  9. Dear keli,

    We could use a little sunshine right now. Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  10. Jan Morrill says:

    Ditto, ditto, ditto. I had to do a blog post on the icy (or heated?) atmosphere myself. Good grief. How will we ever accomplish anything if we don’t learn to communicate respectfully instead of firing poison-tipped sound bites at each other? Well said, Keli.

  11. I hope you’re right.

  12. Good story not a story. I agree, and agreed with Jan on her blog post about civility, too.

Leave a Reply

