A is for Amateur and Anacoluthon

Posted: April 2, 2013 in Blogging from A to Z Challenge
Tags: , , , , ,

Definition time.  (Thanks to Dictionary.com)

Amateur:

1.  a person inexperienced or unskilled in a particular activity.
2.  a person who admires something; devotee; fan: an amateur of the cinema.
There are other definitions, but these are the ones I want to focus on.  I am relatively new to blogging, but I want to become more skilled.  I also admire those who have the discipline to blog regularly and well.  I hope to develop this ability, so I have joined a blog challenge.  The timing is absolutely terrible for me, but I’m still doing it.  If you want to check out some of the other (nearly 2,000) blogs involved, check out the list here.  I’m sure I’ll be figuring out more great stuff on how to effectively blog over the coming month.  Thanks ahead of time for any advice or suggestions, and I hope you find something entertaining, educational, or enlightening here on the Open-Faced Sandwich!
Definition time, again!
a construction involving a break in grammatical sequence, as It makes me so—I just get angry.
To start with, let me just say, I am a master of unintentional anacoluthon.  Actually, I’m still trying to figure out this term completely.  It is listed among these “figures of interruption.”  The origin of the term is Greek.  It means not following, or perhaps more colorfully, not “marching together.”  I think of it something like–squirrel!  This may be an oversimplification, and truthfully, the figures of interruption are, to me, occasionally difficult to differentiate between.  I think a key here, however, is the fidelity.  Parenthesis, for instance, remains true to the original thought, clarifying it.  Aposiopesis is a complete breaking off, apparently in response to that which is being addressed.  Anacoluthon, on the other hand, is a distraction from the original–a tangent, often followed by virtue of this new thought taking precedence over the original.
I am finding the examination of figures of interruption interesting partly because it is giving me a vocabulary for communicating those odd little things we do in writing and in speech that can be confusing, even pointless, but often indicate something deeper in the way speakers or writers are thinking, feeling, or relating to the world around themselves.
Do you agree or disagree with my perception of anacoluthon?  Have you ever used it?  With what results?  Do you think it is just a bit of esoterica or do you think it is worth considering as a practical figure?
Or maybe a more amusing question for this post:  What is your favorite amateur pursuit?
Comments
  1. leesgoodfood says:

    Anocolution – a new word for me – and one i apparently use frequently!! I’ll stop by occasionally during the month (like you say, the timing is terrible, but it’s too good to pass up).

  2. I’ve never heard amateur used to define a devotee, that’s interesting. Not sure if I’ll get used to it but interesting. I’m loving anacoluthon though. Your squirrel comment made laugh, but it totally sent the idea home! Fun! Could also be a good name for a fictional country. You know, whatever serves your purposes 🙂

  3. Maggid says:

    I’m an amateur AtoZ blogger – AND – this is why I stopped by this morning – now i have learned a new word – and been given extra education while I’m still in pajamas – all for a click and sense of morning alphabet adventure . . . cool! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

