G is for Going Home

Posted: April 8, 2013 in Blogging from A to Z Challenge
Tags: , , , ,

When you set up your own household, a new dilemma is introduced into your life: where exactly is home? I’ve spent the last 10 days at my parents’ home.  It’s not the house I grew up in, or even the town, but it is where my parents live, so it’s home.  But today, I’m going home.  Home, like so many other words, has many definitions, connotative and denotative.  I’ll let you work all that out.

Life passes too quickly to do everything we want to do, and it is too short for regrets.  So instead thinking about things I regret not doing, I like to make “next time” lists.  Here’s mine from this trip:

  1. Visit my husband’s sister and her family
  2. See my brother’s kids that I missed this time
  3. Make soup, with kale, for my parents
  4. Not have an argument with any of my family members (hey, we’re not perfect!)
  5. Ride a horse
  6. Eat Basque food

Now for the things I did:

  1. Visited most of my family.
  2. Got to know one of my nieces a lot better
  3. Spent some quality time with my brothers and their families
  4. Met and spent a lovely Easter with my sister-in-law’s family
  5. Ate lunch in the Idaho State Capitol building with my sweet aunt
  6. Took my mom to lunch at a fun churrascaria
  7. Hunted chicken eggs, and cooked and ate them (not that I’ve never had eggs before, but these were very farm fresh)
  8. Helped put together a couple of puzzles
  9. Wrote on my blog every day (except Sunday)
  10. Stayed a few days in a great facility, the Bishop Foote House, for patients and family members of St. Luke’s Hospital
  11. Met some awesome people at Bishop Foote and at the hospital, and grew in appreciation for the kindness and dedication of those who have cared for my parents during the ordeal of dealing with cancer

Wow.  When I write it down, I realize I’ve done pretty much everything I wanted to do.  It doesn’t sound like a great vacation all written out like that, but it was a great trip and I hope I did the most important thing:

Letting my parents know not only verbally but by how I chose to spend this week+ how precious they are to me and how grateful I am for the life they gave me.

And now I’m going home to the family I parent.  The thing I look forward to most is seeing them again and letting them know not only verbally but by how I choose to spend every day how precious they are to me and how grateful I am for the life they gave me.

I guess that’s the essence of Home, no matter what definition you use.

Forgive the mushiness.  It’s really not me, but we all have those moments and this is one of mine.  Have a great day.  I’m off to pack and catch a plane.

I’m going home.

Comments
  1. Juliet Bond says:

    Her’s to mushi moments! Just stopping by for the A-Z Challenge. Please check us out and sign up to follow if you like what you see. Juliet atCity Muse Country Muse

  2. Andrea @ Maybe It's Just Me says:

    There is certainly something to be said for having a did list that is longer than a to-do list! stopping by from a-z

  3. Sounds a lovely relaxed time, doing things that matter. Happy A to Z.

  4. Chontali says:

    I take it you had a safe trip because I read your JOY post before this one. Glad to know you’re home safe and continuing to write. I enjoy reading your posts, God bless.

Leave a Reply

