When faced with today’s letter, “O,” I remembered a drabble I’d written back in September.  (I did a post earlier during this A to Z Challenge on drabble just in case you are unfamiliar with the term.)   The first time I posted it, I didn’t give much of an intro.  I thought I’d repost it here with some explanation of where it came from.

This story was prompted by the accompanying picture.  When I saw it I immediately thought of a fairy or sylph.  That reminded me of “The Rape of the Lock,” the wonderful mock-epic poem by Alexander Pope.  I wondered where Belinda, the main character, would be 40 years later.  Would she be a grandmother?  Would she have outgrown the vanity of her youth?  What of all the “soldiers” in the battle; would they still attend her?  Make her life ever more dramatic or tragic?  Or would they have lost interest, moved on to lovelier and younger women?  And what of Ariel, her guardian sylph?  Would he desert her as she aged?  Read on for my suppositions.

copyright Lora Mitchell

Battled off by sylphs for years, age had not touched Belinda early.  She entered her fifties with alabaster skin unwrinkled and eyes clear and bright.  But as her sixth decade wore on, her guardians flew to younger faces and soon Ariel alone was her protector.  He kept her surface safe, but the veins beneath her skin began to appear, thin channels through which her life flowed visibly now.  Nightly she traced the memories in her body, until the grandchild arrived and Ariel knew his time was spent.  The velvet wrinkles came quickly, and the infant girl played with air spirits.

What kind of things inspire your writing–images, your current reading material, incidents or people in your life, dreams?  Does knowing the background of a story or the author’s process in writing it help you enjoy it more?  I’d love to hear your thoughts on these questions, and always welcome feedback on my stories.  Thanks for visiting, and remember to click the badge to visit more of the Blogging from A to Z Challenge participants!

Leave a Reply

