Q is for Quotes

Posted: April 19, 2013 in Uncategorized

Generally, I like original thought, or at least personally considering and responding to another person’s thoughts.  Lately, however, I’m feeling a little didactic in my approach and I thought today I would let some great minds take over the pontificating edification.  Here are some of my favorite quotes.

  • “That which we persist in doing becomes easier for us to do; not that the nature of the thing itself is changed, but that our power to do is increased.”  –RW Emerson
  • “If there is anything the nonconformist hates worse than a conformist, it’s another nonconformist who doesn’t conform to the prevailing standard of nonconformity.” –Bill Vaughn
  • “We don’t see things the way they are.  We see things the way we are.”  –The Talmud
  • “Here is my secret.  It is very simple: It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye.” –Antoine de Saint Exupery, The Little Prince
  • “The writer earns the right to affirm by doing justice to the negative side of life.” –Leland Ryken
  • “Necessity first mothered invention.  Now invention has little ones of her own, and they look just like grandma.” –E.B. White
  • “I’m nobody.  Who are you?  Are you nobody, too?” –Emily Dickinson
  • “Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking.” –Albert Einstein
  • “The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.” –William Arthur Ward

Got a little carried away there, but I stopped before 10.  Hope this gives you a little to think about.  I would really like to hear your response to any of these.  Do you agree?  Disagree?

 

 

Comments
  1. I love the quote from The Little Prince. For years it was my favorite and, up until a few minutes ago, I’d forgotten it. Thank you.

  2. emmyleigh says:

    Wow, some powerful thoughts there. I like the first one best. It’s really speaking to me right now. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

